Joan Wanklyn Memorial Prize...


Joan Wanklyn   1924 - 1999

For over 30 years Joan Wanklyn was our Regimental Artist, known by every Gunner for her paintings and sketches of regimental events. Every regiment and thousands of individuals of all ranks posses tangible evidence of her artistic skills. Joan excelled at equestrian art and a great master at painting artillery weapons where she had an astonishing eye for detail. In February 1974 Joan took on responsibilities of Chairman of the Ladies' sections of the Royal Artillery Association. Joan died on 13 December 1999 aged 75.

Out of her bequest to the Royal Artillery Association the Joan Wanklyn Memorial Prize was instituted. This comprises of a £500 bursary to assist a child or grandchild of a Gunner through tersiary art education. The winner of this bursary is chosen by the RA Association National Executive Committee at its March meeting and the bursay is presented by the Master Gunner at the RA Assembly later in the year. The winner is under agreement to produce an original work of art to be displayed at the RA Assembly the following year. You can view the previous winners in our Joan Wanklyn Gallery.

THE JOAN WANKLYN MEMORIAL PRIZE is a bursary to be presented each year by the Royal Artillery Association in memory of Miss Joan Wanklyn who was, for many years our Regimental Artist. 

The Bursary comprises a cheque of £500 is to be presented at the RA Assembly in May 2019.  

Applications are open to the sons, daughters and grandchildren of Serving or Retired members of the Regiment, regardless of rank or station, who have reached the tertiary stage of education and are in their first year of a course at a recognised College or University to study art in its broader form. 

For the May following the award, the successful applicant will be required to produce a piece of work judged by the Grants Committee to be worthy of public display.  The work may be a drawing or a painting, or piece of sculpture for which any medium or process may be used including ceramics, synthetics and metals as well as traditional materials.  

Those eligible are invited to apply in the first instance to Cas Thoburn, details below.  Initial applications are to be in manuscript and must be received at Artillery House by 26th January 2019.  A form of application will then be supplied.  

Jodie McGovern - 01980 845895


 The Cornwall Cup

The Cornwall Cup is awarded to the Regiment that throughout the year raises the

most money for The Royal Artillery Charitable Fund.


 The Mansergh Memorial Prize...

Object.  The object is to recognise outstanding acts of bravery, which have not been recognised by any other award of commendation; or, in the absence of any such act, other special achievements by individuals of the Regiment.  

The Award.  The award consists of an inscribed bracket clock and a scroll, and is accompanied by a biographical sketch of General Mansergh.  

Presentation.  It is presented at the RA Assembly usually by the Master Gunner

 The RAA Sword for Young Officers...


Object. The award is made to the Royal Artillery Officer who, during his Young Officers’ Course, showed him or herself most deserving in general efficiency and character. An interest in outdoor and sporting activities is to be taken into account.

The Award. The award is a Royal Artillery sword inscribed with the RAA’s title and with the name of the winner.

Presentation. It is presented at the dinner in which the young officer concerned is ‘dined in’ to the Regiment.

 The Football Challenge Cup...

The Award. The winner of the Regimental Association Football Competition holds the Cup for one year. The runner-up receives a rose bowl for the same period.

Presentation. The Awards are presented on the field of play, usually by the Chairman of the RAA.